Cathedral Clergy and Staff


The Rev'd David van Oeveren - Acting-Dean and Hawke's Bay Regional Dean - email: ; phone [06] 211 3457; mobile: 021 470 337.

Rev'd Margaret Thompson - Cathedral  Priest and Administrator who will be the friendly voice on the end of the phone. Margaret also leads worship.

Director of Music - James Mist -

Rev'd Jon Williams, Rev'd Dorothy Brooker and Rev'd Graeme Pilgrim - Assisting clergy who lead worship at the Cathedral and Ormond Chapel, and undertake pastoral care.

Basil Brooker - Events Coordinator; email:

Elisabeth Paterson - Pastoral worker who cares in particular for elderly parishioners.

Jennifer Harris - Workplace chaplain and at the Cathedral contributes to liturgy and planning.

Cathedral leadership (Vestry and Chapter) - The Cathedral has two oversight bodies:

  • The Cathedral Chapter who are concerned with the Diocesan and community facing ministries;  and
  • the Vestry who are responsible for the parish ministry and day to day running of the Cathedral.